Interview Playlist

IMG_3441It’s interview season! Soon to be graduates are interviewing for full-time jobs and students are locking down plans for the spring semester. Interviews can be tough. Just thinking about them can make you feel tense and shaky.

Music has the power to change our mood, get us energized and help us feel optimistic. Why not listen to some upbeat songs that speak encouragement to you as you drive to your next interview?

Below are ten songs that are on my interview playlist, some funny, some serious and the rest are somewhere in between. These songs will help you get pumped up and help you get in the mindset to get the job (fingers crossed!)!

Good Day, Sunshine– The Beatles

Feeling anxious? Cheer up. It’s a new day and you’re about to destroy your competition. Listen to this one while you’re picking out which tie or pair of shoes to wear.

The Coffee Song– Cream

If you’re like me, your morning is incomplete without your coffee. (Coffee is so wonderful it deserves its own playlist, but that’s a playlist for another day.) Listen to this one while you wait for your coffee to brew or as you wait in the Starbucks drive-through.

We Belong Together– Mariah Carey

At this point you’re on the road, coffee in hand, hopefully feeling optimistic. I like to daydream about what my schedule might look like if I worked for the company I’m visiting for an interview and all that I could do to help them accomplish big things. We belong together.

Billionaire– Travie McCoy

Okay, so maybe in public relations I’ll never be a billionaire, but if I’m passionate about what I’m doing, I’ll never work a day in my life. Right?

Roar– Katy Perry

I may or may not actually like this song, but it’s pretty energizing. Think of the skills/attributes you have that you can emphasize at your interview. Think of possible questions they might ask you so you have an answer ready. They’re ready to hear you ROAR.

Fighter– Christina Aguilera

At this point you might be about a third of the way there, still feeling good but maybe a little nervous. I often reflect on past interview questions I’ve been asked and think of how I can answer them better this time around. To my past interviewees… Thanks for making me a fighter 🙂

Stronger– Kelly Clarkson

You’re getting closer. This interview won’t kill you. I guarantee walking in with a good attitude will help you learn more about yourself and make new connections even if you don’t get the job. Just keep breathing and trust that you’ll leave stronger than when you walked in.

Don’t Stop Believing– Journey

Maybe you’re having doubts. Don’t! Just relax and believe in yourself. If you believe in yourself your interviewer will notice. Think of a moment in your career that you were the most proud. Capture that moment and think of how you felt then rather than exploring your doubts.

Overcomer– Mandisa

As if Stronger didn’t get you pumped up, listen to this one if you’re having doubts. You can do this!

Hakuna Matata– The Lion King

This playlist wouldn’t be complete if there wasn’t a Disney song, so here you go. Hakuna Matata. It means no worries, so walk in with your head high and whether you make it or not, it’s okay.  Good luck!

Leave a Reply

