Glenn

I always see posts on Facebook that people claim will “restore all hope in humanity,” but I had the chance to experience my own yesterday.

IMG_8042I had an interview in downtown Dallas and after driving around in circles through the busy one-way streets looking for the parking garage (I admit…I’m a little directionally challenged), I decided to park at a meter since I wanted to make sure I had enough time to make it to the correct floor. As I parked, I grabbed two quarters out of my cup holder and realized that was all the change I had with me. Anxiously I started weighing my options because I didn’t want getting towed to be one of them.

A man walked past me on the sidewalk and I asked him if he had a spare quarter. No luck. I looked around and saw a car had pulled up about 100 feet behind mine. Approaching strangers in their vehicles is not a habit of mine, but I just needed a quarter! I walked up to the car and asked the man in the driver’s seat if he had any change and explained the circumstances. He pulled two quarters out of a bin on his dashboard and handed them to me with a smile. As he reached for the coins, I couldn’t help but notice an I Am Second bracelet on his wrist.

“I noticed your wristband,” I said. “I’m a Christian too!” He smiled and said he would pray for my interview to go well. I thanked him and walked inside. Everything went well during my interview and I left the office excited about the possibility of working for the company. When I arrived back at my car I saw a white piece of paper on my windshield. I immediately feared I got a ticket, but when I got closer I could see the imprint of handwriting on the folded page.

Here is the note he had left on my windshield:

How cool is that? Whether you believe in God or not, I think it’s amazing how the littlest things can encourage others and how helping someone else can brighten even the darkest of days. It’s funny to think that if I would have found the parking garage like I was intending or if I had two more quarters with me that this wouldn’t have happened. I’m thankful for the little moments that remind me that God is in tune with every detail of every minute of every day.

I aced the interview, by the way 🙂

2 thoughts on “Glenn

  1. Wonderful message – you never know when someone you meet will have an influence on your life or you on theirs. Love – Nina

Leave a Reply

